Skip to Main Content

We are unifying the diverse, interdisciplinary pool of researchers into one center, which will enhance collaborations and partnerships. We are working in collaboration with governmental and private sector partners throughout South Florida to:

  • Develop practical solutions to problems related to water quality in a natural-agricultural-urban setting
  • Create a modeling platform that will enable policy-makers and managers to make informed decisions

In addition to providing research and resource management expertise, our collaborating partners provide access to data, potential students and internships at state (South Florida Water Management District), Federal (US Geological Survey, US Environmental Protection Agency, the National Park Service and the Department of the Interior), Native American (Miccosukee Tribe of Indians) organizations and Educational Institutions (Miami Dade College, Florida Keys Community College, Miami-Dade County Public Schools).

External Partners

Nick Aumen, PhD: Regional Science Advisor for the US Geological Survey. Dr. Aumen brings to the table his extensive research experience in modeling water resources and climate change. naumen@usgs.gov

Kevin Burger, PhD: Deputy Director for the Department of Interior’s Office of Everglades Restoration Initiatives and for the South Florida Ecosystem Restoration Task force. kevin_burger@ios.doi.gov

Joffre Castro, PhD: Water Quality Manager for the Everglades National Park. Dr. Castro brings valuable expertise in environmental chemistry and environmental engineering. joffre_castro@nps.gov

Peter Kalla, PhD: Senior Scientist in the US EPA Region 4 Laboratory. Dr. Kalla has extensive, relevant experience in mercury research. Kalla.Peter@epamail.epa.gov

David Lagomasino, PhD: Postdoctoral Research Scientist at Universities Space Research Association, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, MD. David is a remote sensing scientist with a strong background in coastal hydrogeology. david.lagomasino@nasa.gov

Michael Lewis, PhD: Senior Scientist and Branch Chief at the US EPA. Dr. Lewis is an ecosystems ecologist with experience in ecosystem and resource management. Lewis.michael@Epa.gov

David Rudnick, PhD: Science Coordinator for the Everglades National Park. Dr. Rudnick has extensive experience in wetland ecology and management. david_rudnick@nps.gov